"Lost my grandad due to this hospitals "care""

About: Lister Hospital

My elderly granddad came into this hospital with a chest infection, and ended up dying due to a bleed to the brain. How may you ask? Well, because they didn't take care of him that's why. My granddad suffered from Alzheimer's disease and was supposed to have someone sit with him at all times when a family member wasn't there during the early hours of the morning, they assured us this would happen as my granddad was very anxious and restless when away from our family and in a new environment, he also couldn't walk by himself. Staff left him completely alone and even though he was supposed to be in a "high visibility" area on the ward, they put the curtain around his bed, completely ignoring our family's requests to keep him in their sights at all times. Well, as I said before, my granddad was very anxious when left alone, so he tried to climb out of bed; why he did this I'll never know but going by my instinct and the sheer fact that I lived with him my whole life, I think he was frightened and wanted to know where he was. While doing so, he fell due to the fact he could not walk by himself, and his head took the worst impact.

It was only once the staff heard the loud crack which was my granddads head hitting the floor, did they actually pull back the curtain to check what was happening-obviously it was too late and the damage had already been done.

A bleed to the brain, and many seizures later my lovely, hilarious, beautiful granddad was taken from us.

The hospital say it was a "tragic accident" - nothing's an accident when it could have been prevented by doing the correct thing.

This hospital is so awful it's scary - avoid it at all costs.

To think my granddad would still be with us now if he went somewhere else is enough to keep me away from that place for life.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lister Hospital

We're really sorry that you feel we let you, your family and, most importantly of all, your grandfather down.

You are also clearly very upset and angray at what happened.

If you haven't done so already, please consider raising your concerns with us formally so that they can be investigated.

To do that, you can contact our complaints team directly via our PALS team ( pals.enh-tr@nhs.net); alternatively you can email generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net.

None of our staff come to work to do harm; quite the opposite in fact.

But if something goes wrong, then it needs to be investigated thoroughly, apologies offered where things should have been done better and any lessons learnt shared widely with our staff.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful