"Disjointed service that wastes NHS resources"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

I presented at A&E at approx 22:20. I had a skin tag/mole that had been sliced with a pair of scissors at approx 17:00 and was still bleeding.

I was seen by triage fairly quickly, at that time I questioned whether I needed to be in A&E and if there was somewhere else I could get it treated.

I was told that the tag was mole like and if I wanted it removed I should wait and they could do it there.

As signs clearly state that if there is a better place for treatment patients will be re-directed and I had asked I decided to stay.

It was a busy night and I understood the 4 hour wait.

I saw someone at approximately 03:00. They advised that the tag had been sliced but had pretty much stopped bleeding but would probably need to come off and I could arrange this through GP minor procedure clinic. I asked if it could be done there as per comments of the triage nurse. They said they needed to check with a senior colleague. They returned to say there was no one who could stitch it and it might require follow up care that would need to be arranged by GP. To be honest I was too tired to question the possibility of the prac nurse providing follow up.

The service seemed so disjointed. If the treatment was better placed through a GP, surely the triage nurse could have made that call. It was a waste of my time and theirs.

If the tag requires excision, a simple 5 minute procedure under local, it's a waste of the GP's time or of out patient clinics to get it arranged. How could the triage nurse possibly have thought that there was a dr in the A&E department capable of administering Lidocaine, performing an excision with margins, sticking in a couple of stitches and possibly even labelling a pot for pathology...just to be sure! Sorry, a hint of sarcasm, but, to be honest, im just not sure what happened there tonight! Such a shame as I, and my family, have received fabulous care through wards and clinics in the past.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

First of all, apologies in the delay in responding to your comments. It is correct that usually something relatively minor like this is not best treated at A and E. However we are sorry that you had a long wait and that you felt you should have received different advice in the first place.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful