"Disappointing Service"

On Thursday of last week, I had to take my daughter to the walk-in centre at Weybridge, as she had an ear infection.

After waiting for 1 hour, I then spoke to the receptionist, who curtly told me we were on the list, and I juthe receptionist said (and I quote using their words) “If you have a problem with it, take it up with the nurse”.

I’m not seeing how waiting times are the nurses fault – epic fail NHS!

Then, I spoke to one of the nurses when they came out into the corridor, and they were abrupt and rude, told me they werebusy and I’d just have the wait.

The nurse made me feel like I was a total waste of time – not sure nurses are supposed to behave like that?

After 2 and half hours, I then spoke to another nurse – by this stage, my daughter had actually gone completely deaf, and was in intense pain.

This nurse was kind enough to speak to a doctor and we then saw them straight away.

We were in and out of the surgery in 3 minutes with a prescription.

Thank-you to that Doctor and thank-you so that nurse.

As for the other nurse and the receptionist, I was appalled by your behaviour.

You generally gave me the impression that you did not care about your patients at all. How dare you tell me to take up a wait time issue with a nurse, and how dare a nurse me so extremely rude to a patient with a genuine problem.

The service was being run with 2 nurses that day – get your staffing levels sorted.

And get your receptionist some customer service training – their attitude could have given someone else a heart attack…. And stop taking patients from outside Weybridge – we are tired of seeing our service degrade due to over use from people outside the area – well known locally that this happens, so please do not try and deny it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Weybridge Walk in Centre

Thank you for sending us your message through NHS Choices. We aim to provide a great experience for everyone who uses our services and we are so sorry that you have not had such an experience. We have passed your comment directly onto the service manager, particularly the issues you have raised around your daughter's treatment and if you wish to be contacted back to discuss these concerns, please contact our Customer Services Team on customerservices@virgincare.co.uk or on 0300 303 9509.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Carol Dale, Lead for Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful