"Very upset"

About: Burnley General Hospital

Before I start explaining why I was so upset, I just want to say that the reception staff was absolutely lovely and was very helpful!

I visited the urgent care centre with excruciating back pain, I was very worried as I have previously had a fracture to the lower of my back. I had no luck at my doctors so decided to do something about it. I waited 2 and a half/3 hours to be seen by a doctor. When I saw the doctor they were rude, ignorant and didn't listen to what I was trying to say. Instead they spoke over me and made my trip to a&e an absolute waste of my time. I am a 20 year old girl that works full time with children and I wanted to get my back sorted as it is affecting my day to day life. Instead the doctor said they were going to refer me back to my GP for them to refer me back to hospital for an X-ray. They prodded my back which left me in more agony and when I got upset they didn't apologise, showed no empathy and was totally ignorant to the fact I was in so much pain. So my trip to a&e was a total waste of my time and left me crying and in more pain than when I originally went in. I am very upset with this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Burnley General Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your visit to the Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so.

I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

I will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the team.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services.

You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Many thanks again for commenting.

Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful