"Lack of privacy and manners"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

Visited the ED today, found the triage nurse quite rude, lack of privacy whilst being assessed here as the door was left wide open and it was right next to the entrance so people could see/ hear what was happening inside, they seemed very rushed, I fully understand it's a busy department however patient care should be priority.

When called for further diagnostics, the HCA who took my friends blood tests was very rude and ill mannered, aseptic technique was not followed when performing the venepuncture nor did they perform any hand hygiene before, during or after the procedure, something which I have witnessed more than once at this hospital,

The only kind and professional member of staff we encountered was the doctor, who was very thorough in their questioning and examination and was very helpful and reassuring

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We are sorry that your experience with us today was not a good one. We do expect our staff to be professional, courteous and hygienic at all time and we are sorry that this was not your experience.

We full respect each and every patients confidentiality and apologise that the door was left open during triage, although we are sure if you had asked to have it closed, it would have been.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the doctor who performed the examination.

We will pass your feedback onto both the A&E and Infection Control departments so that they can look into the concerns you have raised.

Kind regards

The Communications Team

Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful