"Visit to x ray department for heart x ray"

Spent nearly an hour waiting only to find out that the form we took had not been signed by an authorized member of staff from the North Brink Surgery.

Eventually had to wake my mum up to go through to the x-ray area. Half way through she needed the toilet and the toilet area provided was far from suitable for an elderly person with mobility problems. Basic height toilet and no grab rails. Very poor facilities.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Cambridgeshire Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us regarding your visit to North Cambs Hospital, and I am sorry that you had cause to contact us regarding your concerns.

Each x-ray examination request form has to be signed by the referring Doctor.

This is a legal requirement, and is due to the fact that any examination requested will result in an additional dose of radiation being received by the patient.

Unfortunately, we do receive request forms from referrers that are not signed, and this then leads to a delay in treatment as we have to contact the surgery and ask them to fax a correctly completed and signed form to us.

We cannot undertake the x-ray until we have received a signed form the referrer.

We would normally pick this type of thing up immediately you pass the request form to us, and we do try to rectify as quickly as possible, but sometimes we are in the hands of the referring surgery, and the speed at which our colleagues can get a signed form faxed back to us.

I apologise that we did not pick this problem up immediately, and the delay this caused.

Unfortunately, we do not currently have a disabled toilet within the department, although this is being investigated as a part of wider changes to our changing facilities, with a view to rectify, if possible within the fabric of the building.

There is a disabled toilet close to the department and I am disappointed that your Mother was not directed to that facility.

Please be assured that I will pass your feedback onto the team working in the department, so that in future, other patients may benefit.

Many thanks for finding the time to get in touch, and I hope I have answered all your questions.

We need all types of feedback, both positive and negative as it helps us improve and shape our services for our local Community.

Please do not hesitate to get back in touch if you feel I have missed anything or you have any further questions.


Mike Oldham

Radiography Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful