"Prompt initial eye test, very ..."

About: Salisbury District Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Prompt initial eye test, very pleasant nurse.

What could be improved

Acknowledgement at the reception desk on arrival, waited for 1 minute for attention, paperwork seemed to be more important than client.

Initial eye test by nurse after 3-4 minutes wait then 70 minute wait to be seen by doctor. This is unacceptable. No information about waiting times, nor apology for delay in being seen. clearly the doctor was unaware of the wait. Rather disconcerting to hear staff discussing departmental problems. Several staff standing around apparently unoccupied. Poor patient processing system with no explanation of what to expect if you are a new patient.

Anything else?

Staff contact was delightful, polite, pleasant cheerful and professional.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salisbury District Hospital

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our Eye Clinic. It is good to hear that you found our staff to be polite, pleasant and cheerful. We are sorry, however that you experienced a long delay before you were seen by a doctor.

Our Eye Clinic is one of the busiest areas of the hospital, as we see patients who attend as emergencies as well as those who have booked appointments, and this can lead to delays. We agree with you that when this is the case, patients should be informed of any delays and told why they are being kept waiting. Your comments have been passed on to the team in the Eye Clinic.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful