"Wessex House Admission"

At the beginning of my stay at Wessex house I was happy with the treatment that I received however, towards the end of my stay the involvement in my decisions regarding discharge were not considered. The idea of discharge made me very anxious but my opinions were not taken into account. Because of this, since I was discharged in December 2015 my mental health has deteriorated and I find myself in the same situation I was when I was admitted to Wessex house in July 2015. I feel that if the whole process of discharge was slowed down and taken at a pace I felt was comfortable then I wouldn’t be in the situation I am now. The leave I had before discharge was not enough as I am from Cornwall it was difficult being so far away and feeling safe. Therefore, the transition from having a week at home to being completely discharged was not enough. Also, following my discharge in December 2015 I wrote a letter to Wessex house explaining my concerns. Every day since then I have been waiting for the postman hoping for a reply. This has made me very anxious because I am worried that the staff are mad at me and I have also had bad dreams about this. Thank you very much for taking the time to read this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wessex House

Thank you for making a comment about your treatment whilst with the Somerset Partnership NHS Foundation Trust. I am sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience. If you would like the Patient Advice and Liaison Service team (PALS) to investigate this, then please call us on 01278 432022, or email PALS@sompar.nhs.uk

Also, we would advise that you go to your GP to see whether they can offer any help and support for you. They can also make a new referral into our services if this is appropriate. I hope that you will feel much better soon. Kind regards, Patient Advice and Liaison Service.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful