"Mixed Feelings."

About: Lister Hospital

My 19 month old daughter became unwell and we were advised to attend A+E at Lister. Initially, when we were at the first reception point in the main A+E, the receptionist was incredibly rude and made a comment about how many times my daughter had been at A+E. She's only been three times and all of these times were needed, we're not people who like going to hospital! I shouldn't have to justify myself regarding my child's health.

However, when we went into the childrens A+E, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and supportive. I don't agree with the 12.5hr shifts though, this needs changing clearly! My daughter was dealt with and we were discharged with 1.5 hours. Wonderful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thanks for the feedback, both about the receptionist on the adults emergency department reception desk (this is actually very unlike them, but still warrants follow-up) and the good experience you had in the children's emergency department.

Just so you know, working patterns for our nurses are based on what is best practice across the NHS and whilst 12.5 hour shifts are not for everyone, many of our nurses prefer them because this means that they work on three or four days a week, giving them greater free time to do other things.

So it's a case of wings and roundabouts!

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful