"No sugar free alternatives"

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

I attended for a knee replacement.

Perfectly comfortable stay.

All staff caring, helpful and pleasant.

They worked hard and didn't waste a moment.

No problems with anything except the meals:

Plenty of (white) over-cooked pasta provided.

So over-cooked it resembled wall-paper paste.

No sugar free choices for breakfast,

Plenty of sugary cereals.

No marmite for the (white) toast but plenty of jam and marmalade. No wholemeal bread.

Timing of final meal so late, I had to skip it or have indigestion all night.

So glad to be home.

Don't they know about dietary recommendations?

Does anyone ask why so much food has to be thrown out?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent admission to the University Hospital of North Durham and in particular the issues you had with the food quality.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and your feedback has been passed to the Associate Director of Estates & Facilities so he can look into the concerns you have raised.

If you would like to contact us with your name and some more details it would enable him to look into your concerns for you on a more specific level and should you feel it would be useful to meet with him to discuss things please contact us on our Freephone number 0800 783 5774 or you can e-mail us and our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk and we will try to arrange this for you.

If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774