"A very very long wait"

About: Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

I have to visit the hospital every 6 months with my son as part of his treatment.

The clinic is always behind. You are told to take a seat and that is it.

You are not told how long you will have to wait.. We had an eye test and the consultant first of all asked why we were here even though the registar we saw last time asked for a review in 3 months for his condition.

The consultant kept asking him to look up which he cant do because of his condition. I told the consultant this but they said that they knew what condition he had.

We then went back into the waiting room and was then called again to have lenses put in front of his eyes for some new glasses.

We were then told again to wait again and then was called to see a registar for 5 minutes who this time told me that he had cooperated this time and they were able to get a bit more information and that his eye sight is the same and is a bit improved.

(the last time I was at the hospital the registar kept putting their back to me which I thought was very rude).

This in total took 3 hours and I had to ask a relative to pick up my daughter.

I did ask if they had a morning appointment but the response I received was no it is only an afternoon clinic and when I said about childcare the person couldn't care less and mumbled something about other families have to do it. It then took me another hour to get home.

Not impressed at all but I have to go to the hospital for my son every 3 months or 6 months.

.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Many thanks for your feedback. We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences in clinic at MREH in January 2016.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously. But, it is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail.

To do this, we would need more information. Please can I ask that you contact the contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailat pals@cmft.nhs.uk They will be able to discuss your concerns and how you would like these to be addressed