"accident & emergency"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Kettering general hospital is the biggest joke of a hospital I have ever seen. me and my partner were at home and unfortunately my partner had miscarried our baby. I called NHS 247, they said they would send an ambulance to our home and we waited about 20min and them someone called us and said we don't have any free ambulances and they said do you have a car. I said yes, and they said use your car to go to hospital and so we did, taking with us our 4 other children in sitting in the car while my partner has been sitting in A&E for 4and half hours while everyone that's been seen first is all foreign. I would never recommend this hospital to anyone, what a hell hole.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am very sorry to read you that your partner has had a miscarriage. This must have been very distressing for you all as a family. All of our patients are triaged on arrival and seen according to their assessed level of priority and time. However, I am fully aware that the Accident and Emergency Department (A&E) has been very busy over the last few months, leading to many of our patients waiting longer to see a Doctor than we like them too.

Unfortunately I am unable to comment regarding the ambulance problems you experienced as they are not run by Kettering General Hospital. Please contact the East Midlands Ambulance Service on 0115 948 2000.

I would like to apologies that your experience at A&E has been less than satisfactory. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01536 493305 and I will be more than happy to discuss this with you and your partner.

Rebecca Norton

A&E Lead Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful