"I had my baby girl 4 weeks early"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

Whilst I was giving birth the midwife that delivered my baby was very rude towards me but there was a lot of complications through my delivery the labour ward staff were okay some of them were lovely others wernt. The staff on the special care baby unit were absolutely fantasic they gave me advice when I asked support when I needed it and were kind i had to stay in the hospital 11 nights with my new born as she only weighed 3.11 when born to get her weight up but the staff were brilliant best I could of asked for labour ward staff need to be more like the staff on the special baby care unit.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Dear Kerry

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience of the Maternity Services at Darlington Memorial Hospital.

I am very pleased to hear that on the whole you had a positive experience and that you are happy with the care you receivedmoslty from the Special Care Baby Unit.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients, and your kind comments will be shared with the Matron to pass onto the staff on your behalf.

I know they will be encouraged by your positive comments, however I am sure they will also reflect on the concerns you have raised about the attitude of the midwife who delivered your baby and do accept our apologies for this poor experience on the Labour Ward.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful