"unit 1 day care experience"

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

I arrived at 7 am on 10th Feb 2016. The waiting room was full but we were all taken to our beds with in 10 mins , I saw the surgeon who I had never met and I don't even think told me their name , they asked me what procedure I was having and decided to put me last on the list , so I waited patiently for my turn , I was dressed in my gown , tights and had all my identity brackets fitted , I was scheduled to be taken to theatre at 11 30 am. At 1.00pm the matron came in my room and shut the doors behind me , I said. " oh no " matron said I'm so sorry but your op has been cancelled. I was in shock, they also insisted I filed a complaint as they knew well before 1.00pm I was going to be cancelled but nobody had informed me.

I have waited everyday since Nov 2015 for this day to come to relive me of my daily unbearable pain I suffer , I am un able to work due to Thu and most of the time not able to enjoy or look after my children.

My (hopefully) benine tumour is continuing to grow , it measured large in the scan I had back in Sept 2015 , so I dread to think of the size of it now!

I feel I'm being neglected , I couldn't fault the staffs politeness and care from reception staff , to nurses to matron , but leaving me sooooo long I soooooo much pain is awful.

I've now been told I have to wait for permission of another consultant who is happy to proceed with my operation , it could be weeks.

Is it correct they should leave a patient like this?

Thank you for reading and I hope no one else is having to go through this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frimley Park Hospital

Dear Jodie

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your trip to our Day Surgery Unit at Frimley Park.

I'm very sorry that your surgery was cancelled and we didn't communicate this to you in a timely way.

I've passed your review onto the Matron and to our PALs team to investigate what happened so we can learn and improve for the future. PALs will be in touch very soon but in the meantime you can email them on palsfrimleypark@fhft.nhs.uk or ring them via swtichboard on 01276 604604 if you have any other concerns.

Thanks for raising your concerns

Kind Regards

Claire Marshall

Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful