"ENT visit for ear infection."

About: Queen Alexandra Hospital

I had been referred to the ENT department for a cleaning and assessment after a regularly occurring ear infection complicated. I needed micro suction to remove some debris in my ear canal and had some kind of sore against one side of it.

I was left waiting for over 4 hours after a mix up with patient list and when I was called in to see the dr we were interrupted to say that the doctor wasn't supposed to be seeing me yet, the dr openly discussed another patients care and medical problem in front of me before kicking me back out to the waiting room.

When we eventually got seen, the dr was nice but very nervous and couldn't find some of the things needed to treat me properly. What the doctor was using in my ear was incredibly painful. The doctor had to go find another Dr to help. The other dr was much gentler with my ear and had found some other instrument that caused little pain.

I needed ongoing treatments of ear cleaning and some kind of cream placed into my ear canal. It took about a month to heal completely with weekly visits to the ENT department.

The staff seemed harrowed and worn out and as a result they could be quite rude at times.

I still don't know what was wrong with my ear because no one could give me a clear answer. It was just explained as some kind of growth and an infection. Not at all reassuring to know. I wasn't told if it would come back, was dangerous or needed further treatment or preventing.

Now I've got a similar problem in my other ear this year (2016) and I'm waiting for another GP referral appointment. I hope I'll get some more information about what's causing my regular ear problems this time.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen Alexandra Hospital

I'm sorry to hear or your experiences within the ENT Department, unfortunately you have not indicated when these incidents occurred.

Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the ENT team.

We would really appreciate the opportunity to look into this further and get someone to contact you to discuss your concerns, but can only do so if you are willing to provide us with your details.

If you would like us to do so, please could you contact me on 023 92286000 Ext. 3473 so that I can obtain further details and forwarded to the appropriate team.

Kind regards.

Debbie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Debra Johns, Patient Experience Officer, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

I'm sorry to hear or your experiences within the ENT Department, unfortunately you have not indicated when these incidents occurred. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the ENT team.

We would really appreciate the opportunity to look into this further and get someone to contact you to discuss your concerns, but can only do so if you are willing to provide us with your details. If you would like us to do so, please could you contact me on 023 92286000 Ext. 3473 so that I can obtain further details and forwarded to the appropriate team.

Kind regards.

Debbie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful