"Pain clinic"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

(as the patient),

I had sacroiliac injections with good effect and cannot fault the consultant, the team in Sunderland operating theatres and the nurse who looked after me after the procedure.

However, the follow up has been very frustrating and disappointing. I attended my follow up appointment and saw a nurse instead of the consultant. They explained that I would be put on the list for facet joint injections. However, it's been 2 months and I have received no communication regarding the facet joint injections and nothing to suggest further sacroiliac injections. I am in a lot of pain, struggling to continue to work on analgesics that are ineffective in reducing the pain. I would just like to know how long I can expect to wait for my injections as I just can't cope with this pain anymore and I need to plan how I can manage this condition accordingly.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Please accept our sincere apologies that you feel like you have been left to manage your pain because of no follow up dates of confirmation.

If you would like to contact either of the two pain clinic consultant secretaries to discuss an appointment then please ring the main hospital number on 01634 830000 ex 5989 or 5976 and hopefully they will be able to advise you.

Regards

The Patient Experience Team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful