"All staff were very polite, charming ..."

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

All staff were very polite, charming and reassuring and had due to respect of patient needs and for our dignity.

The staff's hard work and dedication to patient care was unquestionable and confirmed what I have always thought, but made my opinion/feelings even stronger in support of all their enthusiasm, dedication and commintment to their work, despite everything that is thrown at them.

Your staff are a credit to the NHS and to their patients. They made my stay over the New Year form 30/12/2009 to 04/01/2010 as pleasurable as it possibly could be. They were absolutely great!!!

I would love to work with and help them all.

What could be improved

Having said what I have said above, I was frustrated to see how overworked they were. I can only assume that this was down to short staffing/resources. Perhaps more staff are required. The staff's ability to multi-task with a hundred hands it seemed is credit to them.

Anything else?

What I did think was something in need of debate, consideration and CHANGE, (particularly when the hygiene measures in place all over the hospital, with hand wash/cleanser to assist with the maintaining of a sterile environment), is the fact that the bins , bith general and clinical waste are kept at the end/side of a wide, within the ward. I had them right at side of my bed and I could smell the contents as the bins were opened, surly this cannot be good. It certainly was not a pleasant experience. Would it not be better to have them in a seprate environment, away form patients etc!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

Thanks for writing your lovely feedback about your experience in our hospital over the New Year. We are really glad that you were pleased with your care and with our staffs' dedication and commitment their work.

If you can contact our Customer Care team on 0800 161 3997 to give us more details of which ward you were on we would really like to address the issue with the bins.

Response from East Cheshire NHS Trust

Thanks for writing your lovely feedback about your experience in our hospital over the New Year. We are really glad that you were pleased with your care and with our staffs' dedication and commitment their work.

If you can contact our Customer Care team on 0800 161 3997 to give us more details of which ward you were on we would really like to address the issue with the bins.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful