"Manchester Orthopaedic Centre"

About: Trafford General Hospital

From first seeing consultant surgeon and other contact with admissions staff through to admission and surgery I could not have received better service.

Staff were always on hand to assist and reassure and each one displayed a professal yet caring attitude. Being able to laugh and share a joke when filling in admission paperwork, being reassured by the anaesthetist that they would make sure the best anaesthesia for me was sorted and speaking to the surgeon soon after I eas back on the ward all led to a positive patient experience

Then one blot on this was the fact that having followed the blue arrows.round to the lift to the Orthopaedic Unit the lift was not working and hasn't been for some.months! As I had a broken foot and no chairs around this led to a long painful journey to the next lift. This must be sorted urgently as it is totally unacceptable for patients with serious mobility issues!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Experience Lead, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on the NHS Choices/ Patient Opinion website regarding the care and treatment you received at the Manchester Orthopaedic Centre, at Trafford Hospital. We were pleased to hear that you felt that the care and treatment you received from the moment you were admitted until the completion of your treatment was provided by our staff in a professional and caring way.

We were, however, sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced because the lift was not working. Mrs Kathryn Mitchell, Deputy Head of Estates and Facilities, would like to apologise that the lift has been out of order and for the inconvenience that this obviously caused you. The lift actually needs to be entirely replaced and is on order with an expected delivery date of 22nd February 2016. Once it arrives we will ensure that our specialist lift contractor fits and commissions the lift as a matter of urgency.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback which helps us to improve our patients’ experience.

Response from Trafford General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on the NHS Choices/ Patient Opinion website regarding the care and treatment you received at the Manchester Orthopaedic Centre, at Trafford Hospital. We were pleased to hear that you felt that the care and treatment you received from the moment you were admitted until the completion of your treatment was provided by our staff in a professional and caring way.

We were, however, sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced because the lift was not working. Mrs Kathryn Mitchell, Deputy Head of Estates and Facilities, would like to apologise that the lift has been out of order and for the inconvenience that this obviously caused you. The lift actually needs to be entirely replaced and is on order with an expected delivery date of 22nd February 2016. Once it arrives we will ensure that our specialist lift contractor fits and commissions the lift as a matter of urgency.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback which helps us to improve our patients’ experience.

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful