"I didn't like anything about ..."

About: Leeds General Infirmary

(as the patient),

What I liked

I didn't like anything about this hospital, the left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing.

I was left in a waiting room with a broken ankle for 6 hours, then told to go home.

Then received a phone call from the hospital asking why I had gone home.

When I returned to the hospital the doctor almost refused to treat me because I had gone home - on their advice.

I was given misleading information before an operation, I was woken in the middle of the night and persuaded to sign a consent form for an operation the next morning without knowing what I was signing and without being given the full information.

When I came to complain the hospital had lost my records.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Involvement Facilitator, NHS Leeds

Thank you for taking the time to feedback (via the NHS Choices website) your recent negative experience at the Leeds General Infirmary.

From what you have written, you have quite rightly complained about the level of care you received. If you are having difficulties making a complaint, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on the freephone number 0800 0525270. They can provide you with explanations of the complaints procedures and how to get in touch with someone who can help.

We will also pass on your comments to the Patient Relations Manager at the Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful