"Constantly having items missed from my prescription"

About: Logan Practice

(as the patient),

Every month without fail, regardless of the method I use to order my repeat prescriptions, there is always something missed. This means I need to re order again. Often having to go back in to the surgery as they do not allow you to order over the phone any more.

This also means I need to wait a further 2 days for that prescription to become available. This is ridiculous.

If I go in to the surgery to request it and they read my list back to me and it is correct then, how is it possible to not order those items and cause so much hassle? If I use the re order slip or write out my list to know I have put these items on. How do they go missing?

And the new online service where you can see you have selected it and it has still been missed! ? It is every month. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sharon McGowan, Practice Manager, Logan Practice

Dear PleaseTrainYourStaff

I am sorry you have experienced issues regarding missing items from your prescriptions. I can imagine how annoying it must be when you don’t get the prescription items you were expecting.

As you are aware we have various methods for reordering; face-to-face, online or via a pharmacist. Although medication is on repeat it may need to be reauthorised by a GP before being issued, for example when the authorised number of repeats have been issued and sometimes the GP will decide to stop medication.

I would like to look into this situation for you and get things cleared up once and for all. I would appreciate you getting in touch with me so we can do that. You can telephone me on 01698 373341 or pop in to surgery the next time you are passing. Alternatively you can leave a message with reception and I will contact you.

I really appreciate you taking the time to feedback on Patient Opinion. Feedback from our patients is very important to us. I discuss all patient feedback with my team and with the GPs on a weekly basis. We are a training practice therefore feedback also helps with our teaching and training.

Kindest Regards

Sharon

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by PleaseTrainYourStaff (the patient)

Good Afternoon Sharon.

Do you have an email address and I can contact you directly with my details, rather than going through reception? I tend to find I am holding for some time before getting through to someone, and i'm not sure you would get my message.

Thank You

Kind Regards

PleaseTrainYourStaff

Response from Sharon McGowan, Practice Manager, Logan Practice

Good afternoon PleaseTrainYourStaff,

I am sure you will understand that I can't publish my email address on a public site however if you copy and paste the following link, then click comments and suggestions at the bottom of the page a message will come through that will be passed on to me.

http://www.loganpractice.scot.nhs.uk/contact1.aspx?p=L62933

This is not the normal method of contacting the practice however I am really keen to try and resolve the issues you have experienced.

Please be sure you click the box agreeing that I can contact you regarding the matter as I need your permission to be able to do so.

Best Wishes

Sharon

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by PleaseTrainYourStaff (the patient)

Hi Sharon,

My apologies, I assumed as you were the practice manager for whom complaints are raised, that you would have an email address which was available to the public.

I would just rather give you my details directly as opposed to leaving a message which you may not receive.

I will input my details via the Contact us form right now.

Many Thanks for your help

Kind Regards

PleaseTrainYourStaff

Response from Sharon McGowan, Practice Manager, Logan Practice

Hi PleaseTrainYourStaff,

Thank you so much for speaking with me on the telephone. It is regrettable that I have not been granted a generic email address however this is unfortunately outwith my control. I appreciate you taking the time to allow me to clarify how our prescriptions are allocated and why sometimes GPs do not issue certain requests.

I trust that we have fully resolved this issue and do hope if you have any further problems that you are willing to contact me again.

Take care and best wishes

Sharon

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful