"A & E"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Would be highly conducive to well being if one could find the bloody entrance to A & E these days.

I wandered around the corridors (after many failed attempts to locate the entrance) in severe pain assisted only by the lovely person on the 999 switchboard. I was so distressed that I phoned 999 for an ambulance whilst I was actually on the hospital premises.

The reception area is smaller than my kitchen and everyone present can hear all about your medical problems!

My son tried a bribe for urgent help but to no avail.

Where's that number for BUPA?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Please accept our apologies for any distress caused.

We do understand that the temporary Emergency Department entrance is not in the most ideal place however you will appreciate how difficult it is to build a new department whilst still providing a service on a busy hospital site.

We are are grateful for your feedback and are continually reviewing patients' comments so we can try and make improvements where we can.

If you would like to discuss your concerns with someone, please get in touch with the Help and Advice Service using the contact details below:

Email: Helpandadviceservice@chsft.nhs.uk

Telephone: 0191 569 9855 or freephone 08005876513

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful