"waste of time and money"

I was billed for £180.00 for seeing a consultant for 20 minuets. I had had severe swelling and pain for 4 months and was told to do whatever I felt comfortable with, no advice what so ever. I was then offered a MRI scan at £650.00 but told it probably would not show anything!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Spire Elland Hospital

I am sorry you were disappointed with your consultation. I have reviewed your case and it seems that it was not possible for the consultant to reach a diagnosis without an MRI scan being done. He was aware that you did not want to pay for a private MRI scan as you had an imminent appointment in the NHS and other than discussing the best options for you to be as comfortable as possible there was no other treatment that he could offer.

I hope that you now have a diagnosis and treatment plan following your subsequent consultation.

Kind regards

Chris Harrison

Hospital Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful