"One member of staff let you down"

About: Southend Hospital

I was in and out in 3 1/2 hours with a broken arm and majority of the staff were really good. However when I arrived I was greeted by a member of staff who was extremely rude at the front desk and barked words at me such as "Name" and "Date of Birth"...They clearly didn't want to be there and hated their job which is very unprofessional, especially when you are in pain. Please give the member some customer service training or they need to find another job where working with people isn't involved.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southend Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your post relating to your visit to our Emergency Department.

It is great to hear you were in and out in a quick time but I am sorry to hear about the staff member. Unfortunately without a name and your exact time of arrival and date I am unable to locate this particular staff member, however if you feel you would like to call us to give this information you can call our PALS team on 01702 385333 or email pals@southend.nhs.uk I ensure you I will be sending all of this information to the Emergency department with the information you have provided me with here. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and wishing you well for the future.

Regards,

Louise McIver Patient Involvement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful