"Patient care and safety"

My daughter is currently staying on Coral Ward at this place.

On visiting her today and on obviously other occasions it hurts me to say that the staff need to practice there people skills.

On ringing the bell to gain access to the ward a miserable if not cant be bothered member of staff lets us in.

A friendly face would be nice.

I am told by my daughter that some of her toiletries have gone missing and a pair of trousers .

( Most of these were gifts ).

I explained to a member of staff who took my daughter and which I followed to a store room where her clothes were in plastic bin liners on the floor I watched my daughter go through two bags and none of her toiletries or trousers were there.

Actually I was appalled that these patients clothes are put in bags like homeless people . So apart from getting myself worked up it upset me so much that I could not stop crying.

I wrote a list of things that had gone missing which the HCA took a photo copy of it and promised to have a look. ( whether they will do I don't know ).

On one occasion before Christmas my daughter actually got out of the building but instead of the staff person that was with her stay with her they went back to the ward by then my daughter had gone off the premises and self harmed.

That nurse should have gone with her but they had no phone or pager so let my daughter who should have been safe go .

Your rules are rubbish about staff not allowed to leave the hospital grounds patient safety should be priority wherever you are in the building or grounds .

Also my partner on two occasions was asked when wanting to use the toilet if he was a patient !!!!!!!!!! are you oblivious to who is a patient or not ....

I suggest you get proper plastic storage boxes for patients clothes ....would you like to live out of bin bags? and also bank staff or not teach them how to interact with relatives and other patients as on my observations they just sit and talk to each other .

.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Langley Green Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we try our hardest to make everyone’s experience of our service a positive one and sometimes we don’t get it right and for that I am truly sorry. For us to move forward and make a difference I would appreciate if you could make contact to me so we can talk through how we change things. My number is 07825823370.

Best Wishes,

Natalie Cadman

Matron

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Simon Street, Complaints and PALS manager, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we try our hardest to make everyone’s experience of our service a positive one and sometimes we don’t get it right and for that I am truly sorry. For us to move forward and make a difference I would appreciate if you could make contact to me so we can talk through how we change things. My number is 07825823370.

Best Wishes,

Natalie Cadman

Matron

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful