"Shocked at the long wait times and inadequate..."

About: Clatterbridge Hospital

i have been referred to the Pain Clinic in Clatterbridge and have not had the best experience from start to finish. Firstly, the waiting time to actually see the Doctor at the clinic was 10 months. Considering this is for people who are in a lot of pain this is unacceptable.

If need be, maybe a small portion of the millions they spend on cancer treatments could be allocated to the clinic. The fact that the Wirral only has one Doctor who supposedly specialises in pain is totally unacceptable in the 21st century.

Secondly, I only had the choice to see one Doctor, a Doctor who has, in my opinion, been the most aloof and uncaring Doctor I have ever been to, and I am 64 years old so I have seen a fair few.

Not sure if this person realises that they are dealing with patients who are usually in extreme pain and have very little support..

They must be able to understand that these people need someone who can be empathetic as a lot of us do not discuss our pain with friends or family as you don't want to become a "pain bore".

I found them to be very dismissive of my symptoms and I left the clinic feeling completely depressed and hopeless. I would suggest that this doctor should go on a Doctor/Patient awareness/empathy course to develop their communication skills with patients who will no doubt already be in a quite a fragile state both physically and emotionally.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Clatterbridge Hospital

We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced. We are committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however, we realise that there may be times when we do not get things right.

We have recorded your comments about the Pain Clinic and shared your experience with senior management for the department. We record and monitor all feedback, positive and negative, about the experiences our patients have.

We would like to look your concerns further, please ring the Patient Relations team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to Patient Relations team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Patient Relations team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful