"What a joke"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

I have been waiting ages for my initial appointment to be seen regarding lower back pain and eventually received a appointment about 16 weeks later! on the examination it was suggested that i would benefit from a pars bilateral injection to see if they could identify where the pain was coming from even though they had MRI s showing where the problems was and asking me questions about how the pain affected me.

I was told that the hospital will be in touch soon regarding this injection and what seemed like forever an appointment arrived for the injection i phoned up to confirm the date given and asked if i could have sedation be put asleep for this procedure they told me no!

Yet other hospitals give sedation and allow this to be carried out under general anesthetic but not here! so basically i have to have this procedure done or i get wiped off the system a dog is treated better. i feel you have no say at this hospital and i certainly wouldn't like to experience what the care level is like dread to think

If you are seriously thinking of having work carried out here i wish you the best of luck you might just need it.

So now i just have to put up with the pain which if i was an animal my carers would be prosecuted for allowing this to continue.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very sorry to hear of your experience and the pain you are currently in.

Although we do not offer spinal injections under general anaesthetic, we can undertake spinal injections under sedation if this is requested in advance.

We are sorry if you were not offered this option previously.

If you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team on 01392 402093 with your details, we will be happy to look into this matter further for you.