"Ear Nose and Throat DEAF !"

About: Freeman Hospital

Dismayed that this department is leaving me without hearing at this time of year while I have been suffering for more than a year. Pathetic is the only word I have. My friend visited today and got sorted in one appointment. Even the audiologist thinks it is very poor service and don't know what's going on. ! I am still struggling holding my employment on, how with tremendous STRESS.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Freeman Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on NHS Choices about our services at ENT. We would like to apologise for the difficulty you have experienced resolving your hearing problems and the distress this is causing you.

Patients referred for hearing assessment are seen within 6 weeks of the service receiving the referral from the GP. If a hearing aid is prescribed this will be fitted within 18weeks, however unfortunately at this time of year it is impossible to fit everyone in before Christmas.

We do offer a walk in repair service Monday to Friday 9-4 for existing hearing aid users, who will always leave the department with a working aid within the one appointment. We strive to offer appointments as soon as possible, but regrettably the waiting time is a reflection of the increased demand on the service.

Unfortunately we cannot comment on individual cases without more information, but would be happy to look into your case further. If you would like to discuss, the Head of Audiology Pauline Bosson, is available to assist and can be contacted on 0191 2231630 or via email Pauline.Bosson@nuth.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful