"Incredibly unhappy"

About: Peterborough District Hospital

My mum was admitted to A&E. She was under the WAU ward.

Staff didn't communicate - decision was about whether my mum was safe enough to come home. We left in confusion with a risky journey that wasn't planned.

It took several shoves to embark on said journey because they kept telling me to my face they didn't know who I was asking for (the nurse in charge of mum's care case) and that they were 'doing everything they could'. I popped back into the room to tell my siblings this, then returned outside and saw the people that were supposed to be working hard spinning in chairs and talking. I lost my temper and asked another nurse to help me, who asked the same questions I did but got more action is response - and answers.

I feel patronised and insulted that they wouldn't help my mum with her life-threatening status.

They hadn't changed her wee bag for 2 days (the duration she was there) and it was very full.

Reception desk was repeatedly empty whenever I went for help, and had trouble getting the nurses attention - some even saw me, heard me and turned away, saying they weren't in charge (whilst my mum was choking not 6 feet away).

I stayed in the visitors area in which we weren't directed to (it was a very long walk across the building, through multiple 'Authorised access only' doors).

In which the beds were made poorly and there was a towel with blood on it in the pile of 'clean towels' left for us.

I'm really upset with the outcome of the visit and admittance for my mum - I'm actually worried that because of their lack of communication, my mum has suffered far more than she should have.

Mum came home with us, and she was given a bag of her medication -bearing in mind she cannot swallow and is unconscious 99% of the time- in pill form. She was given needles in the hospital. I can't comprehend how the nurse could make a mess of this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lesley Crosby, Deputy Chief Nurse, Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments which concern me greatly and I am very sorry for the poor impression that you have been left with about the care we offer at Peterborough City Hospital. I would like an opportunity to discuss with you in more detail your comments so that we can ensure that we learn from your experience.

If you feel able to contact me please email me on lesley.crosby@pbh-tr.nhs.uk and then we can arrange a convenient time to chat.


Lesley Crosby

Deputy Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful