"Disgraceful treatment"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

I first went to the hospital in 2012 for an Achilles heel operation, this failed to work and snapped at work, was very painful.

I had a second operation this year on my other heel which doesn't seem to have worked either. I spoke with my doctors secretary who stated that I should continue with my exercises and wait till I see my surgeon again at the end of January.

During my recovery I again snapped my heel I had done in 2012 (this is now the second time this has happened) but my surgeon has refused to see me as an emergency and has stated that if I want to see them I should just go to my GP and get a referral.

This is not how you treat a patient!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

Dear John

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your experiences with the Orthopaedic Department. I have spoken to the manager for the orthopaedic services and he confirmed that the normal procedure for someone who has a snapped achilles tendon is either to go to A&E or their GP. However he understands that from the your perspective contacting your surgeon's secretary would be a sensible thing to do and can fully understand that you are disappointed with the advice given.

He would be happy to bring your appointment forward or liaise with the surgeon if you were able to give your details.

Best wishes

Caroline Davies

Deputy Chief Nurse caroline.davies@bsuh.nhs.uk 01273 696955 ext.63429

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful