"Friendly staff, but improvements can be made."

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

Overall there are friendly staff, patients are treated with respect. And the place is clean. Improvements can be made though.

Had a few visits over the summer starting in may, with son's hydrocele. It started hurting a lot more in May. Fast forward to September and the doctors did a referral to be seen November 2nd. It has always been present but increased a lot over the summer.

However, little man woke up on Oct 22nd with swollen stomach, fever and pain. Ended up admitted to CAU as an emergency. Doctor informed us that day that it was a hydrocele, and that they wouldn't operate until he was 5. His father and I were told by the hospital to bring him back in 2 years time, as it would 'go away on its own'. This was written on his discharge paperwork which I presented to his health visitor and Gp, who had been requesting paeds to look at him for a while.

10 days later he is back in the Prh. A different doctor took one look at it, confirmed the diagnosis and said that he was having surgery 3 weeks later. Surgery was carried out on Monday. The same trust told us not two weeks before that Telford Hospital won't drain it until he is 5.

Eventually it's been done, and little man is healing well. Staff in the day surgery unit on 30th November were warm and friendly. Would give full marks but the hospital managed to lose my son's medical records which I deem unacceptable, so they have lost a point for that. Sorry, records should be kept more secure and never be lost! Turning up to a pre op to be asked tell us what op he Is having because we have lost his notes, didn't go down well with the either parentl. Neither did being fobbed off in CAU to be told he is eligible for surgery 10 days later!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Princess Royal Hospital

Good morning,

Thank you for your feedback, although I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you have experienced.

I will share this feedback with the relevant departments so they are aware, however if you would like us to look into this in more detail for you, please contact the PALS Office at the Princess Royal Hospital on 01952 641222 extension 4382.

If you provide your son's details we can investigate the concerns you have raised, should you wish for us to.

I hope your little boy is recovering well.

Best wishes

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful