"My hip replacement"

About: Westmorland General Hospital / Langdale Unit

(as the patient),

I was in the Langdale unit at Westmoreland General Hospital for a hip replacement. For the first 3 days I was in a single room which was excellent. I was then moved to room 5 for four days which was dreadful. I found several of the senior nurses very abrupt. None of the other 3 patients spoke a word, very jolly. I have been in hospital many times before, but this was, by far, my worst experience. I asked for a message to be passed on to the physio for advice and I’m still awaiting the answer. Lancaster told me to ask Kendal for two solid walking sticks. Although asking I have had no joy.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Graeme Nicholson

Thank you for your posting. I am grateful to you for taking the time to feed back your experience.

I'm pleased that you were happy with the single room and am sorry that you subsequently found the bay area to be dreadful. I'm also very disappointed to hear that the senior nurses were abrupt and that overall your experience was not a good one.

I hope that by now you have the walking sticks, however, if you haven't recieved them yet or if you want to discuss any aspect of your stay in hospital please do not hesitate to contact me (Tel. 01539 716575).

In the meantime I will of course ensure your comments are fed back to the team.

Thank you again.

Best wishes,

Graeme

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful