"I was made to feel like I know nothing"

About: Wishaw General Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as a relative),

My grandmother has been an inpatient in Wishaw General for the last 3 weeks. She has alzheimers and was admitted with a fractured Hip after a fall at home. She currently lives with my mum after a fight to keep her out of long term care.

Since her operation to fixate her hip, her alzheimers has been up and she spent a few days being very sleepy. The doctors took the decision to stop the alzheimers medications she has been on for the last 2 years without consulting any family members, including my mum who is her legally appointed guardian.

When I visited, she was using a table to push her way along the ward. Patients had pressed their buzzers to let the nurses know and yet she had been left wandering crying, very disorientated and angry. She had not been given the medications prescribed to calm her down since yesterday and staff seemed clueless as to what she was doing. When I spoke to what looked like a staff member to ask if she could have her medications, which was fine, she brought the tablets in and gave them to me, with no water or glass to even get her water. I then asked for a glass of water which I got reluctantly.

10 minutes later, I was approached by 2 staff and asked if I could speak to them outside. I was then berated in the middle of the corridor for daring to question my grans medications and that decision is for a doctor to make. When I asked if I could make an appointment to speak to a doctor. I was told that they are far too busy and that I can ask when I'm in, but they doubted that they would have time to speak to me.

My gran does have other medical issues which I attempted to discuss but was essentially made to feel like I know nothing and have no say over the decisions made. The fact our family have guardianship should surely stand for something.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maureen Dobbin, Senior Nurse, Surgical & Critical Care, Wishaw General Hospital

picture of Maureen Dobbin

Dear relativesvoice,

Firstly I would like to apologise that this has been your experience within our service. I am very disappointed to hear that you have had such a negative experience and that you have been made to feel this way.

To allow me to investigate this further, can I ask that you contact our Patient Affairs Department on 01698 366558 with further details.

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by relativesvoice (a relative)

Hi Maureen,

I have left 2 messages at this number to be told you will call me back, to no avail.


Response from Maureen Dobbin, Senior Nurse, Surgical & Critical Care, Wishaw General Hospital

picture of Maureen Dobbin

Dear Relativesvoice,

Again I must apologise that you have not been contacted by our Patient Affairs Manager as there appears to be a problem with her answering machine. She is off the afternoon however her secretary is here this afternoon if you would like to call her on 01698366681 after 3pm or tomorrow and she will be happy to take the details from you,

Many Thanks


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful