"visiting a&e at lincoln"

About: Johnson Hospital Lincoln County Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

Had chest pain in Spalding Johnson hospital. ecg stated that I had a ischemic attack and that I was tachycardia and lead 2 was abnormal. I was blue lighted to Lincoln. can I say that staff at Johnson and the ambulance crew were great. arrived at Lincoln a&e was put in a bay a nurse came didn't tell me her name just said it's a long way to come why did they bring you here. I said I don't know she stated I will do blood and ecg before ecg was finished and before she even looked at it she said that's ok. within 5 mins I was given a gown and was told by nurse to put gown on. then this Dr came did not tell me his name asked me what he can do for me with a face like thunder and gave the impression I was a inconvenience to him. straight away he said chest xray and you don't need the gown on so you can take it off and he left. then a nurse came and said put the gown on. the Dr came back and said after xray sit in waiting room well I'm sorry they did not have blood results nor did they have xray results I was in pain with chest and told to wait in waiting room. some 60 mins later Dr called me into corridor to say chest xray was clear. he went to give me antibiotics that I am allergic to I said why do I need them he said you have chest infection I said you just said xray was clear. he just shrugged his shoulders. I said what about the ecg he shrugged his shoulders and said I can't do anymore for you if you don't take tablets. I said but what about my chest and the pain he just shrugged and said I can do no more. the whole experience was disgusting. I work for the nhs I would not dream of treating my patients like that I want to make a formal complaint as I am not happy at all. also I don't know what is wrong with me as according to ecg I have damage to my heart but according to the Dr who could not be bothered I have chest infection even tho xray was clear

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Sozzy

I am sorry to read you were not happy following your recent visit to A&E.

If you would please send your name and DOB to Sharon.Kidd@ulh.nhs.uk, this will enable me to investigate the concerns you have raised directly with the staff involved

Karen Hansord – A&E Sister