"Poor treatment during assessment"

About: Darent Valley Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

I had a postate procedure ealier this month, all went well & was discharged 2 days later.

About a week after the procedure I could not pass urine & for the next 24hours was in extreme bladder pain, I followed procedures and rang the doctors followed by the acer ward where I resided after the operation.

I was told to go to A&E.

I arrived at 11. 29am, booked in and waited to see the assessment nurse, I cannot believe what happened next, despite my explaining my predicament having not passed urine for at least 24 hours and being in severe pain, I was told to sit in the triarge where I stayed for 5 hours, and to be honest the nurse in question never assessed my position correctly showing neither compassion or tact in this situation.

I therefore wish to complain bitterly by the treatment shown by this particular member of staff. Everybody else were fantastic.

And if DVH wants to move foreword in the NHS it needs to address it assessment in A & E.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Doug

We were please to read that your prostate procedure all went well although, of course, we were concerned to see how unhappy you were with a member of staff from our Emergency Department. We would like to look into the concerns you have raised, so please would you be kind enough to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 01322 428383 or email pals@dvh.nhs.uk so that we may investigate further.

Thank you

The Communications Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful