"Emergency admission resulting in gall bladder..."

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I was admitted from the out of hours service in Chesterfield, this made for a smooth admission onto Elmton Ward with suspected problems with my gall bladder.

The ward had a great team of staff, both nursing and medical, who cared for me very well and kept me informed as to what was happening

I was impressed with the 4 bedded bay with a fantastic view over the golf couse.

I needed both an ultra sound scan and a CT scan,and I was impressed with the way I was treated, kindly and respectful, in both these areas of the hospital with explanations as to what was going on.

After 4 days, I was on the theatre list, again impressed with the whole process surgery involves

The theatre staff were kind and calmly explaining things to me.

The Porters were a friendly lot and got me to the various areas safely.

Food on the ward had a good variety of choice and what I chose, I enjoyed, plenty of hot drinks too.

I stayed in two days after surgery, which gave me the confidence to be up and about.

I didn't feel rushed to leave which was nice.

Visiting hours were generous and plenty of space so each persons visitors didn't intrude on the other patients.

The ward seemed to be clean and enough storage area for my things. The cleaning staff seemed to be doing a good job.

All in all a good experience which in a strange way, I enjoyed!!

Thank you to all the staff for making my stay as pleasant as possible.

Well done all of you.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

It's lovely to read a post that has the word 'impressed' in it several times - and I'm sure our teams will be equally delighted to see your comments about the care they provided during your recent emergency admission. I'm really pleased how you have described how you were treated and kept informed during your stay, and also that you found the meals, visiting and the ward's cleanliness 'up to the mark'. Your comment about 'enjoying' your stay made me chuckle - but I know exactly what you mean!

With best wishes Sarah Turner-Saint, Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful