"Head Injury not treated"

About: Northern General Hospital / Accident and emergency

My housemate had a fall at home and was knocked unconscious, I woke him up and he appeared severely concussed, I rang the non emergency 111 number and they said he needed to been seen with in the hour. 4 hours later at A&E Northern General we had only been seen by an assessing nurse not a Dr and left in the waiting room.

After going to a walk in centre 24 hours later they said this was completely unacceptable and he should have been seen within an hour and kept under observation not in the waiting room.

He received below an acceptable level of care and luckily hasn't had any complications yet but it could have resulted in him being so much worse.

Completely unacceptable will not be using this service again if I can help it! Sort it out!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I was very sorry to hear about the poor experience that you had in trying to obtain medical attention for your housemate. We would like to respond to your concerns and would be pleased if you could provide more details so that we can look into the case?


Please could you contact our Patient Services team if you are in a position to provide more information. The team can be contacted by telephone on 0114 271 2400 or by emailing pst@sth.nhs.uk

Thank you.
  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful