"Appalling level of care."

My father was admitted here to rehabilitate from a stroke. One of the many incidents there, was them not giving him his insulin for 3 days which I only picked up on when I read his notes. His blood sugar was at 27 and left for days. If I hadn't of checked it and went mental at one of the nurses, he could have had a hypo and died. Magically, the day after it had suddenly started dropping. The level of care we received was absolutely disgraceful, they give incorrect information to us about his condition to discharge him home as quickly as possible and subsequently, myself and my mother have been through absolute hell having him at home when he should have been moved straight to a home, and they knew that. They even gave us a care plan to support us at home, promising continued physiotherapists and speech therapists and we have received none. Now it is near impossible to deal with this through the council, and my mum is near having a nervous breakdown. I will be making a full complaint about this to the hospital and demanding answers.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Pancras Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. What you have described here sounds awful and I am very sorry for that. We would not want any patient or relative to feel this way.

I believe that you have now submitted a complaint to our service and we have responded to that complaint. If you would like to talk to me directly please do all me on 020 7685 5806 to discuss the difficulties in more detail.

Graeme Caul

Camden Borough Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful