"The Downfall of a once good Hospital"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Once again my daughter is on AEU ward, after being admitted to A&E. Dirty ward again, after 4 hours no wristband, again. Staff do not appear to know what they are doing, again.

Absolutely disgusted!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to know that you did not find unit to be clean and we are very sorry that the cleanliness fell below the standard. There are 2 allocated Sodexo Domestic staff who clean the unit including the side rooms on daily basis.

The information that you have provided has been shared with the Sodexo supervisor and the AMU Matron has commenced a clean walk round on daily basis, where she monitors all the areas on AMU for cleanliness and ensures that the domestic staff respond to action any issues immediately. Maintaining a good standard of cleanliness is paramount in our hospital and we strive to ensure that AMU is kept clean at all times.

Providing patients with a wrist band is part of the Trust identification policy and our local admission processes on AMU.We are sorry that this policy was not followed by the staff. Your comments have been shared with the staff and the staff have been reminded the importance of generating a wrist band as soon as patients arrive on the unit.

It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk we will be happy to discuss this with you