About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

my wife was transferred to the

A+E department from home feeling unwell , took a while before she was seen by a nurse , paperwork details , eventually took her stats , eventually they decided to put a canula in and took bloods , eventually taken for a scan , nurses more intrested in where they were going out to over the weekend , just standing about and chatting , or playing about with paperwork when people were shouting for them or wanting pain relief .

no communication to patients at all , paramedics complaining that they had to queue with new patients as there was nowhere for them , except the corridor .

not bad for a brand new state of the art hospital ? said to my wife at 16.30 , after 6 hours in the

A+E department , you will see the doctor shortly as they will finish at 17.00 , low and behold the doctor appeared with a little bit of information and that she was staying in for two days .

well time rolled on again , at 18.30 , the sister visited to say my wife would be moving onto a ward .

i explained if everyone had worked as a team and sorted things earlier then we could have vacated the room earlier and some poor soul would not have to wait in a corridor , also indicated its a good job there was not a bus crash on the spine road as from what i have seen , this place could never cope ! walked out into the corridor , next thing i witnessed was the sister complaining to the nurses about the bed manager , they had vanished for quite a while so the sister sent sent a nurse to find the bed manager, no organization at all ! eventually at 19.10 moved onto a ward , should have been there hours earlier , if this is our future we are all doomed .

one of the core values in care is communication , to staff , doctors and families especially , they all need to go back and retrain in this value.

ratings dont do negatives , thats were my stars would go !

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Remus

Firstly please accept my apologies that it has taken a few days to respond to you. I do hope that your wife has now received the care she needed and is making a full recovery.

I am dismayed to read some of the comments you have been compelled to write and extremely saddened that this has been your experience. I am sorry that your wife, and yourself, had what appeared to be a long wait before being admitted to a ward. As an emergency care hospital, it is extremely busy with very poorly patients and clearly we aim to see people as soon as possible. However at these times regular communication with patients is crucial and clearly you feel let down that you weren’t talked to frequently enough. I will ensure this is fed back to the teams so we can improve.

I would like to clarify one of your points if I may - our doctors don’t finish in A&E at The Northumbria hospital at 5pm. We have emergency care consultants working 24 hours a day, seven days a week to provide round the clock care for patients that come in as an emergency.

You quite rightly talk about core values and the importance of communication within care. We place a strong emphasis on our trust’s values with all of our staff, one of which is always putting patient’s first. It’s so disappointing this is not the impression that you left our hospital with as I know that our staff work hard to achieve this.

Without knowing your wife’s details it is difficult to look into this further for you but would very much like to talk to you as soon as possible. If you are able to call the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 032 0202 they can liaise with us to resolve these issues.

With best wishes

Claire Riley,

Director of communications and corporate affairs