"Good and bad"

About: Whipps Cross University Hospital

A and E and the Acute Observation Unit are superb. Very careful decision making, kind, considerate staff all round. Nurses in the AOU (no both day and night) outstanding. Very clean, a pity one person asked to clear the toilet shouted that it was a bad place they had a rubbish job and they were tired - not our fault. But in another ward, totally different. Not very clean, no proper understanding of how to dispose of clinical waste, apparently lack of water one day so I am told, insufficient linen another day, and staff who ridicule patients for not having relatives bring them things or not having relatives or the forethought for example if emergency cases to bring necessary items with them such as soap or towels. Patients compared to people who think a hospital is a hotel, described "they brought 2 boots how ridiculous!"Not nice and demoralised staff who complained to each other about management in front of patients and complained that they were tired to patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Whipps Cross University Hospital

Thank you for taking time to write a review and share your experience with us. It is great to hear that you found our A&E and the Acute Observation Ward superb. We were sorry to hear about your time on the ward. It would be great to find out more information about the ward you stayed on. Please provide us with more information so that we are able to look into the concerns you have raised. To do this contact our Patient, Advice and Liaison Service on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Your feedback is very important to us, both to celebrate where we are providing good services and to make improvements to other services where possible. Your comments have been shared with the team in A&E and the Acute Observation Ward.

Best wishes

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful