"Excellent treatment"

Visited yesterday for extraction of two teeth, while procedures were lengthy leading up to treatment (which I understand) everyone was very courteous and apologized many times about delays. Eventually went to second floor and explained how nervous I am, the member of staff who treated me was brilliant explaining what was happening. Unfortunately ended up having three teeth extracted, no pain, no discomfort and very speedy! Didn't get their name but say thanks, keep up the great work!

Unfortunately visited in August and had totally different experience arriving at 7:45am and leaving at 4:30pm following an awful day, reception staff unprofessional, waiting for over four hours to be assessed! Eventually going to second floor to be met by another member of staff who told me they were a doctor, who then continually asked the nurse what instruments to use! When taking my tooth out they slipped with instrument slicing my gum resulting in me having seven stitches but they didn't know if they were dissolvable.

If this had been my first ever experience I would never have come back or recommend the hospital to anyone else.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital

Dear Mr Gough

Thank you for your feedback, which has been shared with the clinical team on the 2nd floor of Birmingham Dental Hospital.

I am sorry your August visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital was less than positive for you, and am pleased that you were willing to continue to attend for your appointment last week, which reads as a positive experience despite 3 extractions.

I do hope you have made a full recovery.

Kind regards

Alison Last

Associate Director of Patient Experience

Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful