"Would never want to be inpatient again."

About: Croydon University Hospital

I have had the misfortune to be an inpatient at CUH twice & both occasions were frightening in the lack of care I experienced on the wards. Communication is poor between departments & there is an over-riding sense of chaos & a lack of safety with the 'care' given on the wards. Medication rounds are infrequent & on both occasions I was left in pain with essential medication not given or late. There is no 'care' given & actually experienced staff who were intimidating, rude & incompetent. I felt very vulnerable, unsafe & would never willingly be admitted to the Hospital again.

I have made an official complaint stating the serious details that I want addressed however over 7 weeks later I still have not received a reply or had my phone call returned.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Croydon University Hospital

Dear Dissatisfied

I wish to assure you that the Trust takes all feedback from our patients very seriously and I am therefore very sorry that you have experienced problems during your stays at this hospital and that you have not received a full response to the concerns you have raised with us. We aim to acknowledge all concerns within 3 working days and to complete any investigation and provide a written response for the majority of complaints within 35 working days. If a complaint involves a number of different services or other NHS organisations, the investigation may take longer, but this should be explained at the time, and we should also keep you informed of any delays. I sincerely apologise if this has not happened and if you contact me, on 020 8401 3000 extension 5990 or at ch-tr.complaints@nhs.net, I will be happy to investigate and provide you with an update.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful