"out of hours service truly dreadful"

About: Harrogate District Hospital

It took 4 calls and several hours to the 111 service to finally get the call back we were promised within an hour. When we got there the treatment was useless. We will go to the GP in the morning. It's a shame because it means the NHS will have provided 2 appointments when 1 should have sufficed.

Problem was nurse practitioners that are not sufficiently expert to deal competently with the presenting issue so didn't. They suggested a visit to GP or A and E instead.

Surely it can't be that both pathways are appropriate but no help from out of hours?

It's not the first time we've had to visit a GP less than 24 hours after a nurse practitioner in the Out of hours service provided " treatment". NHS 111 said delay caused because they'd written down the details on a piece of paper " somewhere" and not gotten around to passing it over to the out of hours service. We also caught them out lying deliberately at the hospital. When we phoned to chase the callback the operator went through to the 111 service and came back and told us they had not been given our details to call. That's how we found out 111 had failed to pass them the details.

When we called back to the hospital to chase it again the same operator tried to claim they had no number for out of hours - until I confronted them and told them I recognised her voice. Truly shameful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Communications and Marketing Manager, Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Hello - many thanks for your comments regarding our Out of Hours service. Clearly, they are of concern to us and we would like to investigate further and feed back to you.

To do this we'll need to know more about the presenting issue and other details concerning your experience.

Please could you contact our Patient Experience Team on 01423 555499 or thepatientexperienceteam@hdft.nhs.uk and we can take this forward with you. Please mention you are making contact regarding a Patient Opinion post.

Many thanks.