"Communication advice and procedures"

About: Stobhill Hospital / General Surgery

(as other),

Arrived with my wife for her appointment for day surgery. Breast reduction.

Both worried about procedures and anaesthetics etc etc.

Was actually dumbfounded at the lack of empathy surrounding procedures affecting the patient needs along with their significant other prior to surgery.

I parked the car, walked her to reception and upon enquiringly about parking allowances found out that I wouldn't need to be thinking along those lines as I would be saying goodbye to my wife prior to her surgery at the "boarding gate".

10 minutes in and it's waving goodbye to your loved one like you were at the coach terminus or Airport.


What a terrible system. Not my idea of what was going to happen and even if I were informed about it I would be saying its a poor excuse for patient care psychologically never mind the trauma of such a scurried and Ill thought out way of dealing with patients and spouses feelings prior to surgery.

Shocked that the NHS has gone down this road and left care and empathy as a casualty to efficiency.

I wouldn't be surprised if this was all about keeping parking at a manageable minimum and traffic flowing out of the hospital grounds.

What changed days indeed. Indescribable. Deeply disappointed and disgusted.

What has the NHS come to. Just no respect for human feelings. OMG.

Husband of the patient (a nurse).

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Upset Spouse,

I am sorry that you have been left so disappointed by this experience of accompanying your wife for day surgery. I can understand your feelings of worry and anxiety, as it is an unnerving time when a loved one is going into hospital. I can also appreciate how your concern for her would have meant you were keen to be with her as long as possible before the surgery.

There are a couple of reasons why we ask that relatives do not stay with the patient until they are taken for surgery - this is in no way related to parking or traffic flows, but about ensuring clinical departments remain areas which are safe and maintain the privacy and dignity of all of our patients.

I am sorry however that this was not explained clearly to you both in advance, when you may have been able to ask more questions, or prepare more in the light of knowing about this. We will look into the information we provide to patients and their families, and how we are communicating this to reduce any such disappointment.

I hope that your wife has had a speedy recovery.

Best Wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Upset spouse (other)

Thank you Lorna for your response.

A leaflet outlining procedures would have been very useful though the procedure of dealing with spouses or relatives still seems very uncaring and lacking in empathy for those who will spend time and even take the day off to support the patient.

So very much taken by surprise then left parting in a situation redolent of day to day interactions in places like transport hubs.

There must be a better way aside from a token leaflet taking into consideration all other factors where the feelings and nervousness of patient and supporter are given some recognition and regard.

Much Appreciated