"Unacceptable waiting time for diagnosis"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow

(as the patient),

I was referred to neurology by my GP in January this year I was seen in April where a consultant examined me and suspected cubitol tunnel syndrome. He referred me for nerve conduction testing which I finally got in August this year.

I have been off work as I am a data input operator and symptoms were that of an RSI injury. My consultant has left and I have been left unseen by any other consultant. I am now facing a capability proceedings from my employer or risk going back to work and causing more injury to my hand and arm.

This is now 10 months on and I have yet to gave a diagnosis that I could actually go back to my employer with. I am facing losing my job over this. I have made a complaint formally to the NHS in August and I am being told that I have been highlighted to the waiting list team.

Surely this is an unacceptable waiting time for a diagnosis or to be even seen by another consultant. I am completely frustrated at this and so fed up with being fobbed off. Something is clearly not working here.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Kat131,

I can completely understand your frustration here and can see how worried you are, not only about your health, but about the wider stresses around your job too.

You mention that you have complained formally about this, and this process will be able to provide you with a much more detailed response related your personal situation than I would be able to give here. However, I have highlighted this to the service so they are aware that you have also shared your experience here on Patient Opinion, and they will be able to respond to this along with your formal complaint.

I'd also like to give you a bit of information about an independent organisation who might be able to provide a bit of support as you go through the complaints process, which is the Patient Advice and Support Service (http://www.patientadvicescotland.org.uk/). This website will give you a bit more information about the help that they could provide, as well as the best ways to get in touch with them.

I hope that the end of this process brings with it some resolution for you, as well as a more positive way forward.

With best wishes,

Lorna

  • Kat131 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Kat131 (the patient)

Many thanks Lorna for taking the time to read and reply to my story. I have been given an appointment now for the end of this month, which I have accepted.

I will still be getting in touch with patient and advice support services for some information re this.

Thanks Again

Kat