"Unpleasant experience"

About: Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

2 hour 45 minute wait

Consultant didn't introduce themself when we met

Continually spoke over my wife, did not ask for her views or preferences, sighed, eyes rolled skywards whenever she asked them a question. Physically rose their hands towards her to signal her to stop speaking

Also, critical through out of their colleagues who had previously treated my wife

All in all, unprofessional, poor communication skills, we were made to feel like a burden or interruption to their day

Hugely disappointed and shocked

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your poor experience during September 2015 at the outpatients department at Manchester Royal Eye Hospital (MREH). P lease accept our sincere apologies for the way you were treated as this is not the standard of service we expect for patients attending the MREH.

It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will put you in contact with us so we can address your concerns more satisfactorily.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust