"Unsuitable provision and unprofessional care"

About: Leeds and York Partnership NHS Foundation Trust / Psychotherapy

(as a service user),

In 2013 I had an assessment and it was determined that I should receive CAT, soon after receiving information stating this I received another letter stating that I in fact would not receive CAT as the person who undertook this therapy would be leaving their position and the position not being carried on.

Following on from this I was then informed i would see a different counselor. Who was extremely unprofessional, suggesting I pay to see their friend for an alternative treatment, suggesting I stop taking other prescribed medication.

Trying to influence decisions about a profession that I wanted to enter based on what they wanted to do. Therapy sessions with this person were extremely damaging I feel.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Clare Blackburn, PALS, Complaints & Claims Manager, Leeds and York NHS Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Pinkla

Thank you for taking the time to share your story on Patient Opinion. I am disappointed to hear about your experience and it appears that you have been left feeling angry and frustrated. That is definitely not the experience we would want people who access our services to feel.

Unfortunately, with the little information we have from your posting it is difficult for me to investigate how best to help you, I wonder if you might feel able to give me some details about where you were seen and which service it was? That way I can better understand what happened and hopefully, prevent this from happening to anyone else.

If you do feel able to do this then please contact our PALS service who will be able to offer some support and advice on 0800 0525790 or e-mail pals.lypft@nhs.net

Kind Regards

Clare Blackburn

PALS, Complaints & Claims Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful