"First baby"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

I had my first baby in St. Peter's in March. After a very long labour at home I was told I couldn't go into the birthing centre which was disappointing but no ones fault. My both experience and support I was offered exceeded my expectations. I was supported by two midwives due to a shift change who both looked after me very well and took a lot of time to explain things. In addition I was lucky enough to have a student midwife (their first birth) who was like an angel. Not quite the straightforward birth I had planned but an experience that I am thankful for.

Sadly the care on the Joan Booker ward was not quite as good. I asked for support with nappy changing as my husband had accidentally taken cotton wool home but it took a couple of hours to give this which is far from ideal and hard when you are feeling very overwhelmed and not sure what is going on. Generally whilst the midwives tried they were understaffed and so couldn't dedicate any time to me and failed to explain basic things.

Nonetheless I wouldn't hesitate to have another baby at the hospital or recommend to friends

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Peter's Hospital

Congratulations on the birth of your baby back in March. We are so pleased to hear that you felt so well looked after and supported during your labour and birth – despite it being more complicated than you hoped for. We are naturally disappointed to hear that you were not as happy with the care on Joan Booker afterwards. Whilst it can be very busy on the ward we still expect our midwives to make time for every woman and provide help when it is needed. We know it can feel very overwhelming as a first time, new Mum and we are sorry that you didn’t feel better supported. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your experiences further if you would like to. Debbie Parkinson, Lead Midwife, 01932 722392.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful