"beyond useless!"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

After it was discovered by the dialysis unit I had an infection in my dialysis access line I was sent to the A&E dept. Kings Collage had requested that they gave me intrevenious antibiotics. After a four and half hour wait I got to see a doctor who said I didn't have an infection and should go home. I stated that I had been sent as an emergency by Kings dialysis unit and my access line was obviously infected as it was oozing fluid and smelt bad. To this the doctor just shrugged their shoulders and rolled their eyes. I went home in disbelief.

Three hours later at 2.30AM Kings were on the phone asking why I hadn't had the antibiotics as this infection was very serious and could be life threatening. So back to the hospital, and saw the same doctor. This time the doctor said they had spoken to Kings and I needed to be treated immediately!

But the issue was the doctor thought is was funny that I had to come back a second time and was pretty annoyed with them. When I said I don't think it's very funny, again the doctor just shrugged their shoulders and laughed it off. This is an example of an arrogant non carding doctor at its worst. I did tell them I would be complaining about this behavior, once again they laughed and shrugged their shoulders.

My dialysis access line was infected and I now have to have an opeducation to replace it. To any one considering going to Darent Valley A&E.,

I would say go to another hospital instead.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Mr Simmons

We are sorry that you felt let down when you attended our A&E department.

We have looked into your concerns and would welcome the opportunity to respond to you directly.

There does appear to be some misunderstanding regarding your experience.

Our records show that you left the department before we could treat you and that you chose not to return.

We alerted Kings who then rang you, but when you returned you chose not to finish your treatment. It does appear that you had a poor experience with one of the doctors on duty which is concerning and not what we would expect . We expect all of our staff to be courteous and professional at all times and would therefore ask that you contact us so that we can investigate this further.

Kind regards

The Communications Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful