About: Leeds Dental Hospital

I am a receptionist myself, so watch other receptionists very closely, the staff at the Restorative reception are Mean, not one of them looked up as I arrived to the desk, there were 4 of them all talking to each other and not one of them acknowledged me, for a good 2 minutes.

Then after having seen the Dentist who was great by the way.

Then I had to make my appointments, again I was totally ignored, not one of them looked at me, they were all talking to each other and then at the computer screen, in some sort of training mode I would imagine, then when one of them deigned to look at me, after a good 5 minutes to make appointments, never asked when would be convenient and when I asked if I could have a Tuesday appointment,, no, I could have Mondays, Weds or Thursdays or Fridays, but no...no Tuesday was available forever apparently, this was said with a smirk.

These members of staff need to go on a Course, there is no excuse for rudeness, despite the fact I know Receptionists are treated very badly by everyone, they should rise above it.

If I acted like this at work I would get the flick.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent experience at Leeds Dental Hospital; I was very sorry to read of the poor experience that you have described.

I have passed your post onto the service manager at Leeds Dental Hospital so that they can address the matters that you have raised.

If you would like to discuss these matters any further please do not hesitate to contact the trusts Patient, Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

With kind regards


Senior nurse

Patient Experience